Sunday, 5 February 2012

My plea for a small deed to save Jersey's democracy

Dear all,

Much of my previous blogs have focused on the topic of electoral reform in Jersey which is, in my opinion, the solution to virtually every problem that Jersey faces. I believe that more democracy and more responsibility for the people (together with support to empower them) is the way that all injustices will be solved, and to achieve this we need an electoral system that is fit for purpose and puts each individual in as much an equal position of power as possible.

The more democratic, accountable and receptive the States of Jersey is, together with a system that enthuses all of the electorate to take part, the better Jersey will be.

But as I and others have said before (to the point where it's a cliché now), Turkeys don't vote for Christmas and the States is incapable of reforming itself. It needs an independent commission to look at all the options, without bias and put forward a suggestion that goes to the public in a referendum. Politicians must be kept out of that process as much as possible because they all have a vested interest in what the make up of the chamber is.

You're probably thinking that I've said all this before, why regurgitate it all again now? Well, as I read in the JEP the other day, it is now official that on the 6th of March, the States will debate an amendment put forward by Deputy Roy Le Hérrisier on removing the reserved 4 seats on the Commission for States Members. *

This vote will be the crucial moment.

If it is lost, then reform in Jersey is a lost cause for God knows how long, again. It really is vital that this vote is won so that the independence of the Electoral Commission is preserved. And so I call you to action!

At the bottom of this post I will copy all of the contact details for all of the States Members who you should email, it doesn't have to be a long message, just saying that on the 6th of March you would like them to vote for Deputy Le Hérrisiers amendment regarding the Electoral Commission. Don't be scared to contact them, that is exactly what they are there for! The more canvassing people do, the more likely the member will be swayed to voting as you are asking them for.

It will only take a moment of your time, couldn't be simpler and is incredibly important! So please hear my plea!

As usual, if anyone has any questions, doesn't quite know how to word their email, or just outright disagrees with me and wants to tell me the error of my ways, please feel free to leave comments, email me at or catch me on the Facebook!

Many thanks Comrades!



Senator Paul Francis Routier M.B.E. 

Senator Philip Francis Cyril Ozouf 

Senator Alan Breckon 

Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson 

Senator Alan John Henry Maclean

Senator Bryan Ian Le Marquand

Senator Francis du Heaume Le Gresley, M.B.E.

Senator Ian Joseph Gorst

Senator Lyndon John Farnham

Senator Sir Philip Martin Bailhache


Connétable Daniel Joseph Murphy

Deputy Carolyn Fiona Labey

St. Brelade

Connétable Stephen William Pallett

Deputy Sean Power

Deputy Montfort Tadier

Deputy John Hilary Young

St. Clement

Connétable Leonard Norman

Deputy Gerard Clifford Lemmens Baudains

Deputy Susan Jane Pinel

St. Helier

Connétable Alan Simon Crowcroft

Deputy Judith Ann Martin

Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern

Deputy Jacqueline Ann Hilton

Deputy Shona Pitman

Deputy Trevor Mark Pitman

Deputy Michael Roderick Higgins

Deputy Andrew Kenneth Francis Green M.B.E.

Deputy James Patrick Gorton Baker

Deputy Roderick Gordon Bryans

Deputy Richard John Rondel

St. John

Connétable Philip John Rondel

Deputy Patrick John Dennis Ryan

St. Lawrence

Connétable Deidre Wendy Mezbourian

Deputy John Alexander Nicholas Le Fondré

Deputy Edward James Noel

St. Martin

Connétable Michel Philip Sydney Le Troquer

Deputy Stephen George Luce

St. Mary

Connétable Juliette Gallichan

Deputy John Michael Le Bailly

St. Ouen

Connétable Michael John Paddock

Deputy James Gordon Reed

St. Peter

Connétable John Martin Refault

Deputy Kristina Louise Moore

St. Saviour

Connétable Sadie Anthea Rennard

Deputy Robert Charles Duhamel

Deputy Roy George Le Hérissier

Deputy Kevin Charles Lewis

Deputy Tracey Anne Vallois

Deputy Jeremy Martin Maçon


Connétable John Le Sueur Gallichan

Deputy Anne Enid Pryke

No comments:

Post a Comment